1999 All Japan Superbike Championship

Technical regulations

1999 MFJ All Japan Superbike Regulations (complying with FIM International Superbike Regulations)

Motorcycles for Superbike correspond to motorcycles of current production, available to the public, which have been manufactured and sold for everyday road use. Motorcycles must be approved and homologated by the FIM for competition in FIM Superbike events. Manufacturers are required to produce a minimum number of a specific motorcycle in order for it to be homologated; a factory that produces more than 100,000 units per year must produce 500 for homologation, a factory producing at least 50,000 units per year must produce 250, and all other factories must produce 150. Only modifications specified within the approved homologation documents for each model are permitted. The lower fairing must be designed to accommodate at least half the capacity of the oil and engine coolant used in the motorcycle if the engine is damaged. Only brake discs made of iron are permitted. Number plate colours are white background with black numbers (RAL colour table values: 9005 black and 9010 white).

Changes to FIM International Regulations:
Number plates may have any background colour, though they must consist entirely of only one colour.
Number plates should have white or black number colours so that they may be easily distiguished from the background colour.
The fuel tank may be modified to a maximum capacity of 24 litres.
The fuel cap may be replaced with one quick filler cap and one additional air bleeding cap.

Super Naked (S-NK) Class:
In addition to superbikes, naturally aspirated four-stroke road-going machines that have been approved by the MFJ are eligible as part of the Super Naked class, in either the X-Formula or NK-1 sub-class.

Engine capacities

601-750cc, four-stroke, 4-cylinder, minimum dry weight 162kg;
601-900cc, four-stroke, 3-cylinder, minimum dry weight 162kg;
751-1000cc, four-stroke, 2-cylinder, minimum dry weight 162kg.

Super Naked
X-Formula: 800cc-1350cc, four-stroke, minimum dry weight 162kg.
NK-1: 750cc-1350cc and above, four-stroke, steel-framed, minimum dry weight 162kg.

Homologated machines

Aprilia RSV1000; Bimota SB7; Ducati 916; Ducati 996; Honda RC45; Honda VTR1000F; Kawasaki ZX-7RR; Kawasaki ZXR750; Suzuki GSX-R750; Suzuki TL1000R; Yamaha TRX850; Yamaha YZF R7; Yamaha YZF750.

Super Naked
Honda CBR900RR; Kawasaki GPZ900R; Kawasaki ZRX1100; Kawasaki ZX-9R; Suzuki GSF1200; Suzuki GSF1200S; Suzuki GSF1200R; Suzuki GSX1300R; Yamaha YZF R1; Yamaha YZF1000.

Championship rules

Qualifying format

2 official qualifying sessions, each rider's fastest lap time from any of these sessions is taken as their qualification time. Riders may be split into two groups (A and B) if the number of entries exceeds a circuit's maximum competitor capacity. The maximum lap time required to qualify will be equal to 110% of the fastest time overall. All riders must complete a minimum of 1 timed lap in official qualifying sessions. Riders who do not receive a grid space but have set a qualifying time are added to a reserve list and may receive a grid space if another rider withdraws from the event before the race.

Race format

1 race of varying distance at each round. The starting grid for all races will be based on official qualification times. Riders must complete at least 75% of the total race distance in order to be classified and eligible for championship points, though they are not required to pass the chequered flag.

Points system

Riders Championship: 1st: 20; 2nd: 17; 3rd: 15; 4th: 13; 5th: 11; 6th: 10; 7th: 9; 8th: 8; 9th: 7; 10th: 6; 11th: 5; 12th: 4; 13th: 3; 14th: 2; 15th: 1.
At the MFJ Grand Prix, an additional 3 points are awarded for each position.

The number of points-paying positions is dependent on the number of riders who participate in official qualifying. If there are 25 or more participants, points will be awarded to the top 15 finishers; the number of finishers awarded points decreases as follows with the number of participants: 24-22 riders: top 12 finishers, 21-20: top 10, 19-18: top 9, 17-16: top 8, 15-14: top 7, 13-12: top 6, 11-10: top 5, 9-8: top 4, 7-6: top 3, 5: top 2, 4 or fewer: no points awarded.

Prize fund

Payable in Japanese Yen. Specified by the organiser of each individual event.