1995 Shell Superbike Series

With 1994's Shell Series champion Anthony Gobert summoned to the World Championship, his nearest competitors Marty Craggill and Peter Goddard started the season as favourites. Goddard put the aging Ansett Air Freight Suzuki on pole for the first ever Shell Superbike Series event, but in the wet conditions on Sunday New Zealand's Jason McEwen took first blood before his Ducati broke down in race 2 handing a win to Craggill. Returning from injury, Kirk McCarthy immediately scored 4 consecutive podiums in his comeback but was already out of contention having missed round 1. While Craggill and Goddard were consistent they were outclassed in the latter half of the season when the Ducati Dealer Team replaced their old 888 machines with brand new 916s; Shawn Giles went from a consistent finisher to a 4-time race winner with a run of form that clinched him the championship at the final round.

DateRd.CircuitEvent NameResults
1995-02-051Flag of Australia SandownShell Australian Touring Car Championship Round 1GO!
1995-04-092Flag of Australia Phillip IslandShell Australian Touring Car Championship Round 4GO!
1995-05-213Flag of Australia WintonShell Australian Touring Car Championship Round 6GO!
1995-05-284Flag of Australia Eastern CreekShell Australian Touring Car Championship Round 7GO!
1995-07-095Flag of Australia MallalaShell Australian Touring Car Championship Round 8GO!
1995-08-066Flag of Australia Oran ParkShell Australian Touring Car Championship Round 10GO!

Can You Help?

The following official data is currently missing:

1995-02-05 Sandown: All sessions

1995-04-09 Phillip Island: All sessions, Entry list

1995-05-21 Winton: All sessions

1995-05-28 Eastern Creek: All sessions, Entry list

1995-08-06 Oran Park: All sessions

Copies of any of this information would be greatly appreciated. If you have any additional information about this season's races or riders, please contact me!